Dog lover confession: sometimes sleeping dogs make me sad.

Sometimes, in the middle of an ordinary day, I look over, and I see my dogs snuggled together in their bed, or sprawled out on the carpet, and I have to stop for a moment. Although, at that moment, they are happily napping with their best friend in the world, their peacefulness occasionally reminds me of how limited these precious moments are in the scheme of things and how short our time with our dogs really is.

I’m often inspired to put the world on pause and join their cuddlefest for a few minutes. During those minutes, I soak in the softness of their fur, their slightly stinky dog smell, their floppy ears folded in funny ways (because we can’t all look beautiful while we sleep!), and I thank them for all that they do.

Then, I go back to my day and carry on as usual. After all, there’s nothing we can do to slow life down. And for today, and many many days/weeks/months/years into the future, my dogs are happy, healthy, and loving their lives as much as I am. All we can do is enjoy the ice cream while it’s on our plates.

Oh, and sometimes we can write a sweet blog about it later and post an adorable photo.

Akiyla and Zeus, sleeping

About EV

life enthusiast. explorer. dog lover. constantly analyzing, impossibly impatient, and loving it.

Leave a Reply

