On the terrible, no good, very bad home buying process

“But I want it nowwwww!” I whine.

“What’s taking them so long?”

“Wouldn’t this house look great with plantation shutters?”

“This is the one!  I LOOOVEEE this house!  Let’s put in an offer.  Do you think they’ll call today?!”

“What if we get the house?  I wonder what it’s gonna be like when we get the house!  The dogs will run in circles in the living room… yes!”

“Can you sew curtains?  Our NEW house is gonna need LOTS OF CURTAINS!”

This is my life lately.  Okay, I’m exaggerating a little.  Buying a house is actually pretty awesome.  But, if my husband isn’t yet plotting my suffocation as I sleep, he’s a better human being than I am.  If my mother (who is also my realtor – amazing woman that she is, making this whole thing go smoothly despite my severe lack of patience) isn’t taking notes right next to him, then there are two good people left in the world.

I’ve always heard that buying a home was the most stressful time of a person’s life (top five, maybe?).  It’s every bit as wonderful as I imagined, and every bit as dreadful as I feared. My already-anxious (er… enthusiastic?) personality does not make me particularly well-suited for house-hunting.  I haven’t both hated and loved something so much at the same time since I started p90x last year.

The good news is, I can see the finish line.  And, it’s truly a lovely time in life whenever I have something to be this excited about (even if it kills me).  It’s gonna be a bumpy ride, but there’s lots of pretty stuff at the end.

About EV

life enthusiast. explorer. dog lover. constantly analyzing, impossibly impatient, and loving it.

Leave a Reply

