On riding the bus in Spanish

Polar Bear Swimming at the San Diego Zoo
This weekend, VV and I went to the zoo, as we do most Sundays when it’s not football season.  I’ve been taking Spanish classes at Pura Buena Onda for the past three weeks and absolutely loving it.  Conversational Spanish is one of the most stressful and most awesome things I’ve ever signed up for.
Sometimes, when I’ve eaten one too many pancakes at breakfast, I feel like riding the bus around the zoo instead of walking.  This weekend, we learned that there’s a bus that runs once a day that gives the tour in Spanish.  We signed up and decided to ride it around.  Needless to say, it was a 45 minute geek-out session when I realized that I pretty much have the bus tour memorized, making it a brilliant opportunity for language-learning.  It was like reading One Fish Two Fish in Spanish.  The polar bears’ environment is being affected by climate change – got it; no problem.  What’s that you say? – The capybara is the world’s largest rodent?  Oh yes, I knew that.  The hippo has a baby laying on that rock over there?  Yep, saw him last week.
It was perfect!  Looks like I’ve got something productive to do on Sunday afternoons the next few weeks.  It certainly justifies my Springtime zoo obsession.  Now I’m thinking of starting a blog in Spanish so I can document my learning.  When I’m fluent some day, I’ll be able to look back at what I started with.  Decisions, decisions.
Adios!
About EV

life enthusiast. explorer. dog lover. constantly analyzing, impossibly impatient, and loving it.

Leave a Reply

